1. The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa - Blog Tour and Review

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/04/the-forever-song-by-julie-kagawa-blog-tour-and-review.html

    The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa - Blog Tour and Review

    Oh I’ve been a fan of Julie Kagawa since I read her first book The Iron King – and ever since I feel deeply in love with her stories. The Blood of Eden Series combines her incredible world building with my (still) favorite paranormal creature: Vampires!

    But.. all good things must come to an end so welcome to the Blog Tour for:

    The Spectacular Conclusion to the Epic Dystopian Trilogy

    FOREVER_BannerH

    The Forever Song by Julia Kagawa

    Final book #3 in the Blood of Eden series

    The Forever Song_CoverRelease: April 15th, 2014 by Harlequin Teen

    Allison Sekemoto once struggled with the question: human or monster?

    With the death of her love, Zeke, she has her answer.

    MONSTER. 

    Allie will embrace her cold vampire side to hunt down and end Sarren, the psychopathic vampire who murdered Zeke. But the path is bloody and long, and Sarren has left many surprises for Allie and her companions—her creator, Kanin, and her blood brother, Jackal.

    The trail is leading straight to the one place they must protect at any cost— the last vampire-free zone on Earth, Eden. And Sarren has one final, brutal shock in store for Allie. In a ruined world where no life is sacred and former allies can turn on you in one heartbeat, Allie will face her darkest days. And if she succeeds, triumph is short-lived in the face of surviving forever alone.

    Allie has been through a lot. From becoming a Vampire in The Immortal Rules  to slowly accepting being a creature she always despised. We left Allie in a state of pure horror and devastation at the end of The Eternity Cure.

    Hell, we’ve all been shocked! But, Julie Kagawa knows exactly what to do a Reader to make us both love and hate her:) The ending of  The Eternity Cure was shocking and Readers have been desperately dreading and wishing for The Forever Song!

    The Forever Song is dark and it brings Allie to her knees in what she can endure and who she wants to be. Allie struggles a lot with the loss of Zeke and struggles to keep her humanity, something she always valued so much. This struggle drives the story, together with the run to rescue not only humanity but also also all vampires. The whole world and both humans and Vampires are in danger and Allie, Kanin and Jackal are the only ones that might come to their rescue.

    In this final conclusion we find ourself in a heart pounding and thrilling race, that takes nearly everything. I said it before, and will say it over and over again – Julie Kagawa is a master storyteller who never holds back, who never spares us and her characters anything. And this is what you should also expect from The Forever Song. It’s shocking and sometimes even dreadful, but it’s such an absorbing story that never had dull or boring moments.

    The Forever Song also comes with stunning twits, that will make us laugh and cry. Sure enough, there are lots of emotions in this final conclusion and eyes won’t stay dry for very long!

    The ending was perfect! Even though I am sure many people ar dreading the end, and will hate the way the story ended. I personally think it was the best and perfect way to end this story.  I’m excited that I can leave this story and world behind me with satisfaction and not with anger or confusion, like so often with series endings.

    Rating 5

     

    Find The Immortal Rules & The Eternity Cure

     A Legend Begins

    The Immortal Rules_cover The Eternity Cure_cover

    About Julie Kagawa

    Julie Kagawa author

    Julie Kagawa was born in Sacramento, California. But nothing exciting really happened to her there. So, at the age of nine she and her family moved to Hawaii, which she soon discovered was inhabited by large carnivorous insects, colonies of house geckos and frequent hurricanes. She spent much of her time in the ocean, when she wasn’t getting chased out of it by reef sharks, jellyfish and the odd eel.

    To pay the rent, Julie worked in different bookstores over the years, but discovered the managers frowned upon her reading the books she was supposed to be shelving. So she turned to her other passion: training animals. She worked as a professional dog trainer for several years, dodging Chihuahua bites and overly enthusiastic Labradors, until her first book sold and she stopped training to write full-time.

    Julie now lives in Louisville, Kentucky, where the frequency of shark attacks are at an all-time low. She lives with her husband, two obnoxious cats, one Australian shepherd who is too smart for his own good and the latest addition, a hyperactive Papillon puppy.

    Watch the Trailer!

     Visit the Blood of Eden website  for more content! 

    Giveaway

    Each tour stop is offering up the winner’s choice of either THE IMMORTAL RULES, THE ETERNITY CURE or THE FOREVER SONG – whichever book of the series you might be missing!
    There are also 2 grand prizes:
    • 1 winner will get a complete set of Julie Kagawa’s books, including The Iron Fey Saga and The Blood of Eden Saga!
    • 1 winner will get a $100 gift card from either iTunes, Amazon or Barnes & Noble!
    Please enter via the Rafflecopter form. Giveaway is open to US/Canada and ends May 2nd.

    Giveaway

    Tour Schedule

    Follow the tour for many more chances to win and for great posts and exciting Interviews!!

    FOREVER_BannerV

    Monday, April 7th – Harlequin Paranormal Romance Blog
    Tuesday, April 8th – fiktshun
    Wednesday, April 9th – The Page Turners
    Thursday, April 10st – Books and Things
    Friday, April 11th – Ticket To Anywhere

    Monday, April 14th – Two Chicks on Books
    Tuesday, April 15th – Parajunkee
    Wednesday, April 16th – Refracted Light Reviews
    Thursday, April 17st – Bewitched Bookworms
    Friday, April 18th – Mundie Moms

    Monday, April 21th – A Book Obsession
    Tuesday, April 22nd – The Book Cellar
    Wednesday, April 23th – Supernatural Snark
    Thursday, April 24st – The Busy Bibliophile
    Friday, April 25th  – Tyngas Reviews

     

    So, are you a fan of Julie’s tales just like me? Are you afraid of the ending of The Forever Song? Let me know! 

    Danny_Signature_muchloveI 

    a Rafflecopter giveaway

  2. All Lined Up by Cora Carmack - Rusk University #1 (New Adult Monday’s)

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/04/all-lined-up-by-cora-carmack-rusk-university-1.html

    All Lined Up by Cora Carmack - Rusk University #1 (New Adult Monday’s)

    Oh you guys!! Cora Carmack is coming with a new New Adult series. I was so so so excited when I heard this, even more  with the addition of a “Friday Night Light” theme, I was jumping up and down! I loved this show so so much! 

    NewAdult_Mondays

    Daddy’s Girl not just in High School, but now also in College! Poor Dallas!

    Dallas didn’t have it super easy with her Dad being the High School Football Coach boys either wanted to impress or were too afraid to approach Dallas.  And her hope for a fresh starts crumpled when her Dad got a job to coach the Football Team at Rush University. Yeah.. nothing is going to change for Dallas and suddenly all Football boys are off limits for her as well….  Especially since she’s been burned by a Football player in High School she doesn’t want to have anything to do with them.

    Dallas is alone with her Dad and they do not have an easy relationship which makes matters even worse now that she can’t escape…

    “Dad still approaches parenting like I’m a member of his team. And I ……. I’m still stuck. In my father’s shadow.” ARC- All Lined Up

    “Dad really only has two faces: normal and pissed. And football. Footballs gets its own expression, though it overlaps with pissed a lot.” ARC- All Lined Up

    Sweet, Beautiful Romance with lots of Chemistry!

    But of course, as much as she wants to avoid Football playing boys, when she meets Carson suddenly her resolve is slowly dissolving. Carson is not what she expected and at first they both seemed fine to just be friends. However, as good as they are as friends their sizzling chemistry is something both can’t deny forever.

    Dallas is a wonderful girl, who can be shy and reserved, but than can also be a force of nature when she needs to be. I loved this about her. She’s a wonderful soul who pours all her heart into dancing, there she can put all her emotions in.#Carson on the other side is not our usual football prodigy. He has to fight for a place in the team, he doesn’t have a football scholarship and his whole life plans are at stack.

    Still, when they both fall for each other – hard-  even all the logic cannot keep them from each other. Loved the romance so much, Dallas and Carson were so perfect and so good for each other and it was pure delight following them in their quest to figure out that sometimes you have to fight for love and that when you found someone so important,  all your rules are suddenly tossed aside!

    Bewitched Rating

    Bottom Line

    All Lined Up by Cora Carmack – was a delightful, endearing and romantic story about finding love, fighting for it and then do everything to keep it – even if it was so very much not what you expected at first. Dallas and Carson were cuteness, but also there was lots of sizzling and hot chemistry between them!

    Fans of New Adult romance and fans of Friday Night Lights will devour this new kick off into the Rusk University series! 

      New Adult contemporary 

    Additional Info

    I always read the Acknowledgements and Author notes and  Cora Carmack was so wonderful and personal which made the story even more previous. Cora was also the daughter of a football coach in High School and knows what comes with being in such a special situation.
    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  3. Dark and Surreal - Great by Sara Benincasa

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/03/great-sara-benincasa.html

    Dark and Surreal - Great by Sara Benincasa

    A Retelling of The Great Gatsby, with a contemporary setting among the rich and famous during a summer in The Hamptons?  Yeah – let it come!!

    Normal Life – Yet Summers among the rich and famous!

    Noami usually lives with her dead having anormal life. The summers however she spends with her mom, who is a super rich TV cook. I imeadiately loved Naomi as she was not impressed by  her moms money, nor did the rich and famous impress her. Naomi was just a normal girl, who wanted friends and a true loving mom, not the fake loving one her mother usually played.  I loved Naomi’s character, as she felt incredibly strong and real for me.

    Dark, surreal and  a comic like satire

    What I didn’t expect was the tone and turn of the story into a comic like surreal satire. The surreal feeling when we meet Jacinda was truly unexpected, but once I got used to it, it was easy to go with the flow and just let it work its charms on me. Jacinda is major part in the story and was both surreal, comical but also very tragic. Jacinda was bubbly, extravagant and totally out of context.  It felt like she could do anything, has no limits.

    But there was something very tragic around her and we only realized this slowly during the progress of the story.

    Money, Love, Friendship and where do we belong?

    How much can money buy? Can it by love and friendship? Major aspects dealt with these kind of questions.

    There was some romance, yet it didn’t go in the direction I was hoping for. I was happy seeing Naomi falling in love besides all her judgment of rich-people and that she found a boy she liked easily. What I didn’t like was the direction his character was going towards the end of the book. In this story it felt like all rich and wealthy people come with a bad character and cannot help themselves but judge poorer people. I would have loved to see that there are also wonderful and nice people among the rich and famous, but the overall story made us believe they are all corrupted. Which I cannot belive. Money per se doesn’t make you a bad person. I would have loved to see this romance develop more and make Noami open her eyes and see that each person has their own flaws, not matter how much money!

    Then the end… I think my biggest problem was the end. As I said just above about the romance, the ending was not how I would have liked to see it end. I was hoping for just a little more for Naomi, which sadly didn’t came.

    Bewitched Rating

    Bottom Line

    Great by Sara Benincasa was a dark and very surreal satire that comes with a truly wonderful, strong main character.  Corruption, poor judgmental characters and our down-to-earth heroine among them, trying to find a place.

    contemporary

    I admit, I have never read The Great Gatsby so I can’t say anything about the re-telling aspect. Have you read it? Are you excited about Great?

    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  4. The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare by M.G. Buehrlen - Blog Tour with Love Letter from M.G. to Alex!

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/03/57-lives-alex-wayfare-m-g-buehrlen-blog-tour-love-letter-m-g-alex.html

    The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare by M.G. Buehrlen - Blog Tour with Love Letter from M.G. to Alex!

    Strange Chemistry is one of these publishers that always comes up with the most unique book. The debut from MG Buehrlen The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare is no exception and combines Time Travel with a historical setting featuring the super cute and nerdy heroine Alex Wayfare. In celebration of its launch I have Author MG Buehrlen here today and she shares a Love Letter to Alex! Ever since we started with these Love Letters they become more and more popular among readers and also Authors. I especially love it when an author writes a love letter to one of their character and shows us such a deep insight in their “relationship”.

    The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare Banner

    So please welcome M.G. Buehrlen with her letter to Alex!

    Dear Alex, Your Author

    Dear Alex,

    Hey girl. I know you’re not the easiest person to be around. You’re sassy, snarky, and you always say what’s on your mind, no matter if it offends others. I know you’ve had it rough, so you put on a rough exterior to keep out the hurt. But I wanted to let you know you are so deeply loved, and I wanted to tell you all the things I admire about you.

    You’re so incredibly strong. You know what needs to be done and you do it. Even after you screw things up, you stick around to fix it and clean things up. That’s damn awesome of you, woman. So few people have that kind of strength.

    You’re loyal to the core. Once you decide to let someone inside those walls you’ve built, you hang on to them forever, and you’d do anything for them, no matter the cost.

    You’re the bravest chick I know. Maybe you jump head first into things that normal people would mull over for awhile, but you can’t help yourself. That’s the superhero in you.

    You’ve got some growing up to do, sure, but that’s just another reason why I love you. You’re flawed, but those flaws are natural growing pains and a byproduct of the world you live in. You’ll figure it all out soon enough. You’ll learn to put the shoe on the other foot. You’re not impervious to changing for the better, which makes you an unfinished work of art. I can’t wait to see the final product.

    So onwards and upwards, Alex, my love. Keep trusting your gut and becoming the amazing woman you were meant to be. I’m so thankful I get a front row seat.

    Your author,
    MG Buehrlen

    divider_light

    The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare

    by Mg Buehrlen Series: Alex Wayfare #1
    Published by Angry Robot, Limited, Strange Chemistry on 2014-03-04 
    Genres: Action & Adventure, Action and Suspense, Adolescence, Girls & Women, Historical, Love & Romance, Romance, Sci-Fi, Young Adult
    Pages: 416 
    Format: ARC
    Source: Publisher
    Goodreads
    4 Stars
    For as long as 17-year-old Alex Wayfare can remember, she has had visions of the past. Visions that make her feel like she’s really on a ship bound for America, living in Jamestown during the Starving Time, or riding the original Ferris wheel at the World’s Fair.

    But these brushes with history pull her from her daily life without warning, sometimes leaving her with strange lasting effects and wounds she can’t explain. Trying to excuse away the aftereffects has booked her more time in the principal’s office than in any of her classes and a permanent place at the bottom of the social hierarchy. Alex is desperate to find out what her visions mean and get rid of them.

    It isn’t until she meets Porter, a stranger who knows more than should be possible about her, that she learns the truth: Her visions aren’t really visions. Alex is a Descender – capable of traveling back in time by accessing Limbo, the space between Life and Afterlife. Alex is one soul with fifty-six past lives, fifty-six histories.

    Fifty-six lifetimes to explore: the prospect is irresistible to Alex, especially when the same mysterious boy with soulful blue eyes keeps showing up in each of them. But the more she descends, the more it becomes apparent that someone doesn’t want Alex to travel again. Ever.

    And will stop at nothing to make this life her last.

    mgbweb2

    When she’s not writing, M.G. moonlights as a web designer and social media/creative director. She’s the current web ninja lurking behind the hugely popular website YABooksCentral.com, a social network for YA (and kids!) book lovers. The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare is her debut novel. M.G. lives nestled away in Michigan pines, surrounded by good coffee and good books, with her husband and son and three furbabies. Say hello on Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr.

    Quick Review

    You know sometimes you go into stories and you simply expect to like it. The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare was exactly like this.  I love Time travel stories, even though they sometimes make it hard to grasp the specific and rules. Netherless they are always exciting and come with many twist and turns.

    I loved that in the beginning of The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare we don’t actually get that we are talking about time travel, until slowly Alex learns the truth. I don’t want to spoil anything, but let me tell you that I loved the concept of Souls, Reincarnation and Travel throughout time. The whole concept left room to explore and develop the basics and dynamics behind these “rules” and I loved discovering them together with Alex.

    Even more, there were lots of twists and turns that made the story exiting and thrilling, Many of them I didn’t even see coming!

    I love love LOVED Alex as a heroine! She’s very withdrawn and especially hides her true self among her peers at school. I felt for her, and it make me sad seeing this sweet girl so alone. But her “ability” made it hard for her to get into physical contact with someone, so she completely secluded herself. She tries to hide this by focusing on things she can do alone. Fix things and especially all things with a electronics or a computer. Yep, Alex is nerdy and a little geek but I LOVED that about her. I also liked that she actually wished to have friends and be normal, it made her more genuine.

    Or course there is romance – travel among the times – romance. And… there is a little tiny romance in her “real life” too. I didn’t completely figure out the connection to both boys yet and it’s one of these mysteries I’m so excited to uncover.

    The ending is horrible. Sorry, but I have to say this. Not horrible = bad, but horrible= cliffhanger bad. M.G. leaves the story at a point where I was simply dying to read on! I couldn’t believe that she actually, really stopped at this particular point and leaves us hanging, desperately waiting for the next book! I personally cannot wait for the next book – I need to read it right now!!!

    Bottom Line is that  The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare is a fantastic debut that comes with a complex and exciting storyline about rime travel, souls and reincarnation. Alex, the heroine is one of the cutest heroines ever and enchants with her nerdy and geeky attitude!

    How about you. Do you love stories that surprise you and come with so many twist and turns? Do you love time travel and nerdy heroines? And what do you say about M.G’s Love Letter to Alex – isn’t is adorable? 

    Danny_Signature_muchloveI

  5. Half Bad by Sally Green

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/03/half-bad-sally-green.html

    Half Bad by Sally Green

    When I heard about this story I thought about a great paranormal story with Witches and a Boy’s POV, which is always something that draws me in as it is so rare in Young Adult. I realized however soon that this story has much to offer than a simple book you read simply for pleasure.

    Beaten, Tortured and Cast Out – Just because of your genes…

    We find ourselves in a more or less Contemporary setting, yet with a world of witches living hidden among us. Sounds like many other setting too, which is why I didn’t complain too much about the lack of world building, it was also not really needed to tell Nathan’s story!

    Nathan is a half blood, part white (good) part black (bad) witch and everyone hates, fears and oppresses these halfblooded witches. The story starts with Nathan being a little child and we follow him while he grows up among people whoeither hate or fear him. He’s an outcast, even within his family and siblings. There is only his Grandma and older brother who treat him as a real boy and do not only see where he comes from. 

    Nathans story will bring you to tears. It will leave you gasping and it will make you eyes widen with horror. What this boy has to endure is truly terrible and horrific. He’s not only ignored by his peers, but often also tortured to a point where the cruelty reminds of horror stories. It gets even worse when he’s send to a special witch who is supposed to supervise and train him.

    There Nathan is completely alone and cut off from his family, but also trained with a brutality that made my heart ache.

    Unique Narrative!

    What makes this story so unique, is the way it’s written and the way Nathan tells us his story. Most of the times, the story is told in first person narrative which captures beautifully Nathans personality. However, I must also admit that I sometimes felt a little detached from the story. But Nathan is a very complex boy, being constantly tortured and left with so little love, he simply developed differently and I feel like he himself was often emotionally detached. So in this sense the writing was simply brilliant!

    A few times the narrative even switches to Second Person, especially when Nathan had to endure terrible moments in his life. I actually thought a lot about the purpose of this switch in narration and believe there are many reasons why the author chose this. I personally felt more involved, completely drawn into this situations and it left me shivering in horror.

    The pacing is a little off sometimes. The beginning is a little slow and it took  me some time to get used of the narrative and the pacing. It takes up towards the middle and then rashes towards the end.

    The Sweet and The Good Things!

    Certainly, such a dark story needs some hope and thankfully we are offered this in form of some wonderful people Nathan meets. One outstandingly special person is his half-brother who is such a soft and wonderful boy who loves Nathan for who he really is. I think it was because of him that Nathan went not completely mad already as a young kid. And then there is a girl Nathan falls for when he’s super young, but this love stays in his heart and makes him endure even in moments when I though he would break now.

    But the character that made the biggest impression was Gabriel who he meets on his quest to find his father and  the three gifts that will make him a full witch. Gabriel is wonderful with his sometimes cherrie attitude. He shows Nathan that there is more in the world than darkness, than black and white and that there are people who will judge you for who you are.

    Bewitched Rating

     

    Bottom Line

    Half Bad by Sally Green is a brilliant debut with an incredible deep story about acceptance and racism, wrapped in a delightful magical setting. Nathans story left a deep impact on me and won’t leave readers easily after reaching the last page. Due to its often gruesome scenes I wouldn’t recommend this book for younger readers and I rather think that this is a book for all ages.

       

    Wow.. I realized just now how big my review became. And.. I wasn’t even able to say everything I wanted to say about this story. So I hope I did this book justice.

    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  6. Surreal and Unique - Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge | Blog Tour & Giveaway

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/cruel-beauty-rosamund-hodge.html

    Surreal and Unique - Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge | Blog Tour & Giveaway

    I do love good Fantasy books and I found myself craving these stories more and more. I always admire authors who have such a vivid and outstanding imagination and Cruel Beauty comes with an exciting premise!
    Also, I’m super excited to host my Review today during the Blog Tour for Cruel Beauty, so stay tuned and there will be a Giveaway at the end for you!  Thanks to Jamie and Rachel from Rockstar Book Tours for organising this Blog Tour
    Cruel-Beauty

    Good – Evil ?

    Cruel Beauty #1

    Before going deeper into the story I’d like to start with an overall theme of this novel that I found to be truly outstanding and highly intriguing. Often, labels such as good and evil are easy to set, a person is ei

    ther mostly good, ro mostly evil which would make this one the villain and the other one the hero.

    In Cruel Beauty we cannot apply these labels so easily and good and evil blur into each other.
    I loved how delicately Rossamund Hodge approached this issue and did not shy away from creating characters we would like to easily assume being evil, but end of caring for.
    Especially Ignifex the demon lord wasn’t easy to put into box. He was obviously not the nicest guy in town, but the more we get to know him the easier it is to forget some things he has done. It was incredibly intriguing to follow our own emotions about this very bivalent character.

    Nyx – destined to kill your one true love?

    Nxy was the heroine and main character in this story. From early on she knew that she was going to marry the evil Demon Lord and her father prepared her to meet her destiny.
    Also here, Rossamund Hodge took an interesting approach and didn’t made Nxy  a heroine who easily accepted her destiny and the path her father choose for her. She was actually very bitter about this. She was jealous that her twin sister was given a wonderful life, while she must marry a demon, kill him or die trying. There was not much hope for Nxy.
    Cruel Beauty #2Still, she was not completely unlikable like you might assume, I found it rather refreshing having a heroine who is not ready to die for the greater good and is the perfect selfless heroine. I liked this honesty about her very much!
    And it’s also these character traits that make her just the perfect love interest for a demon. Both of them are not without flaws and each one knows that they are not the perfect selfless heroes.

    Unique and beautiful fantasy elements with a wonderful romance

    Most fascinating about Cruel Beauty is definitely the development of the world. Inspired by Greek mythology we still find very unique elements that definitely stand out. Then there is the mysterious castle the Demon Lord lives in and when Nxy explores the house it’s constantly changing with new doors that lead to mesmerizing places. It was absolutely fantastic! Even more, there is a major twist in this story that made me gasp, very excited, but took me some time to wrap my mind around it. The romance was definitely full of chemistry but left me a little lukewarm to be honest. I cannot even put my finger on what I found missing, but I think I was hoping for more sizzling romance and instead found myself not being fully engrossed.

    Bewitched Rating

    Rating 4.5

    Bottom Line

    Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge  is a very melancholic,  yet mesmerizing, surreal and outstanding debut, that let’s us see good and evil with new eyes!

        

    About Rosamund:

    Rosamund

    Rosamund Hodge grew up as a homeschooler in Los Angeles, where she spent her time reading everything she could lay hands on, but especially fantasy and mythology. She got a BA in English from the University of Dallas and an MSt in Medieval English from Oxford, and she now lives in Seattle with seven toy cats and a plush Cthulhu. Visit her on the web at http://www.rosamundhodge.net/

    Website | Twitter | Facebook |Goodreads

    Tour Schedule

    Tour Schedule

    1/27/2014- Paranormal Book ClubReview
    1/27/2014- Two Chicks on BooksGuest Post
    1/28/2014- Imaginary ReadsReview
    1/29/2014- Magical Urban Fantasy ReadsReview
    1/29/2014- FiktshunGuest Post
    1/30/2014- Bewitched BookwormsReview
    1/31/2014- Some Like it Paranormal- Review
    1/31/2014- Parajunkee- Interview
    And now, below is a Giveaway for you guys! Simply enter via the Rallfecopter form below!
    Tell me, doesn’t this book sound fantastic and outstanding?? 
    Danny_Signature_muchloveI

    a Rafflecopter giveaway

  7. Secret by Brigid Kemmerer - Elementals Series

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/secret-brigid-kemmerer.html

    Secret by Brigid Kemmerer - Elementals Series

    The Elemental Series from Brigid Kemmerer is definitely one of my favorite Young Adult series. I think what makes this series so outstanding is the wonderful mix of Contemporary Romance & Issues stories mxdd with some paranormal elements. So, lovers of both genres will find something appealing in this series!

    Coming to terms with who you are…

    We started with Chris, the youngest Merrick brother, moved on to Gabriel and Hunter and now finally get Nick’s story. Nick and Gabriel are identical twins, yet their personality  is so different and Nick always felt elusive. It was easy to be intrigued by Nick but we never got to really know this boy. At the end of the last book it was hinted that Nick is actually guy, and this revelation was both surprising yet made totally sense.

    Now in Secret Nick explores finally his feelings for Adam and struggles with admitting his true self in front of his brothers. He is afraid how they will react, he’s afraid to be cast out and his feelings were so real and raw that I felt everything right along with him!

    Quinn – broken lonely girl

    Together with Nick’s story we also get Quinn’s story. She’s pretending to be Nick#s girlfriend but realises soon that this is not enough for her. She seeks love and partnership and since Nick only can offer friendship and is dealing with his own issues – Quinn feels lonely.

    We finally also get a real glimpse into her home life, something which was only hinted at during the other books, yet never explored. And now we get a full devastating view which will break our heart.  So it’s not surprising that Quinn turns to someone who might be her savior, who will be there for her and has the strength she does not have by herself. It’s extremely surprising who this savior is, and I won’t tell her and leave it for you to explore.

    Raw, Emotional and Touching!

    Secret was amazing and plays with emotions that will bring us to our knees! Nicks struggle and fears were moving and heartbreaking, yet felt incredibly real and genuine. I loved the addition of Quinn’s story and I also really love the direction we are going with this. Again, sorry but no spoilers.

    The story was delicately told and written with so much care for the characters. We also dealt with Nicks fear of rejection and with truly finding out who you are. As heartbreaking the story was, there was also so much beauty and heart warming moments that made me cry. Love love love the way Nick’s family was integrated into his struggles.

    My only complain is the paranormal elements, which drew me into the series in the first place and takes a backseat here in this story. Sure, it’s still a major part of the whole development of the series, yet it was not really a big part in this story.

    Bewitched Rating

    Rating 4.5

    Bottom Line

    Secret by Brigid Kemmerer was wonderfully raw and emotionally touching. Secret comes with a genuinely developed honest story about finding out who you are and struggling with a huge secret that will tear you apart.

    contemporary  

    Bewitched “Elementals” Links

    Have you started this series yet? Do you also love a great combination of Contemporary issue filled story mixed with paranormal elements? 

    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  8. Exceptional and Special - Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/faking-normal-courtney-c-stevens.html

    Exceptional and Special - Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

    Clearly, Faking Normal comes with a premise that promises a lot of tears and agonizing moments. I was prepared for this, yet I was not prepared to what was really to come and that I would fall head over heels with this wonderful, touching debut!

    Truly Broken and not ready to Speak! 

    Alexi is damaged and broken, but for the sake of her family tries to hide what happened to her, and she does this so very well! No one realized that there is something wrong with her, that something insanely horrible happened to her.  But we do!! We didn’t understand right away what happened to her, but we have some pretty good guess. But since Alexi is not ready speak out exactly what happened, we are not entirely sure.
    It was a process of understanding and realisation and it was done so perfectly.
    And even though I had some pretty good guesses, but the true revelation still shocked me to the core.

    When Friendship Turns Love, Turns Savior!

    Being alone and broken, Alexi is not ready and sure what it will mean for her when the boy next door Boddee starts to live with them.
    Gosh my heart broke for this boyhen we hear that his Dad abused his mother and finally killed her. I still get goosebumps thinking about it. Having only his 19 year old brother left, Alexis family take him in. This boy is outstanding. There is so much to tell about this boy, yet I know I have no real words describing him!
    Bodee is such a fantastic boy, but no one really sees him like this. He’s super silent, but he observes so much… He’s the only one who ever saw Alexis marks on the neck, the ones she inflicts on herself and always tries to hid it, until Bodee comes along! Poor, wonderful silent and observant Bodeee.
    Thank goodness for people like this!!!

    The Power of Love, Trust and Friendship!

    Slowly, so very slowly they form a friendship that is so insanely moving and touching and wonderful. Their friendship turns just as slowly into something more and they both would do anything to protect each other.
    Two broken kids, that even though they have both insane issues themselves do anything to protect and heal each other.
    The power of Bodee is the way he reads me, sees through me, and then he understands the truth behind the facade. He’s the guy who can walk straight through the House of Mirrors in the first try. It’s almost annoying. No one should ride trendy like a pro surfer while I drown. - ARC, Faking Normal
    Gosh and the writing!!!
    Absolutely captivating, mesmerizing and beautiful. Courtney Stevens is incredible talented.
    A hand to hold instead of lips to kiss. He’s my fort, my sanctuary. And I won’t do anything to jeopardize this. - ARC, Faking Normal
    I know we’re still broken. Both of us. But Bodee’s got the glue to make us whole.  He is love. 
    - ARC, Faking Normal

    Even just reading these quotes and remembering these scenes and the lines in the book brings me back to tears!

    Bewitched Rating

    Bottom Line

    Faking Normal  was exceptional,  heart wrenching, touchingly tragic but in between the sadness was so much wonder and beauty that melted my heart. Most definitely, Faking Normal is a brilliant debut from a fresh new voice and I’m excited to read more from Courtney C. Stevens.

     contemporary 

    Additional Info

    The Blue-Haired Boy tells a short story from Bodee’s POV, set before the happenings of Faking Normal. This Novella (which I’m soooo going to read) will come out soon.
    Did you hear about Faking Normal already and do you plan to read it? I so hope you are giving this book a chance!
    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  9. Avalon by Mindee Arnett - 10 Facts about Jeth - Blog Tour & Giveaway

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/avalon-mindee-arnett-10-facts-jeth-blog-tour-giveaway.html

    Avalon by Mindee Arnett - 10 Facts about Jeth - Blog Tour & Giveaway

    If you guys have been here last week on Friday, you might have seen my super fangirly review from Avalon by Mindee Arnett. This Young Adult Scifi Story reminded me of Star Wars meets Heist Society and totally blew me away with it’s awesomeness! And today, I’m so excited to host Mindee during her Blog Tour, which is organised by the wonderful Rockstar Book Tours Ladies. (Rachel and Jamie: Thank you both so much for including me!!)

    avalon

    And since I always love good and amazing character I feel deeply in love with Jeth, the main character and voice of the story. So. I asked Mindee to share some Random Facts about Jeth so that you might also fall in love with him!

    Here they are ,and all I can say is:  holy freaking awesome!!!!

    10 Random Facts About Jeth

    1. He was ultra-clumsy as a kid. He reached his full height of 6’1’’ by the time he was 15. For a while he was just too big for his body. This made for a number of sticky moments during heists when he first started pulling jobs. Things would be going smooth and then he’d do something silly like trip over his own feet or bump his elbow into something. For a while there, the crew nicknamed him Slick.
    2. Speaking of sticky situations, the worst one Jeth has ever gotten into was during a routine heist of a Scorpion Raider. He accidently bumped into a biosensor, setting off the alarm. Needless to say the owner showed up early and tried to play pin the bullet on the thief with Jeth. He still has the scar on his right hip just below the waist to show for it.
    3. The first girl to break his heart was named Star. He was 13 and she a year older. She and her parents were on a cruise ship that made a four-day stop at Peltraz Spaceport (Jeth’s home) for repairs. She gave him his first kiss in a secluded spot in the Menagerie, and then left less then day later without so much as a goodbye.
    4. His middle name is Lewis.
    5. He has a secret soft spot for animals that he will never admit to, especially not to Lizzie.
    6. When he was a student at the Metis Academy he was a member of both the shooting team and the chess club. He’s proud of the former and never admits to the latter. His crew would never let him live it down. Not even his little sister Lizzie.
    7. As a kid he was a chronic sleepwalker. It was so bad that at one point during summer camp, his counselor had to tie him to his bunk. Thankfully, his over it now.
    8. Jeth likes to sing and has a beautiful voice, but he won’t sing out of the shower. Ever.
    9. Every year for his sister’s birthday, he gets her a Starlight Rose—a flower unique to their home planet, Therin. It has a silver pedals and reminder them both of their mother, who used to grow them.
    10. He has a secret a tattoo that no one ever gets to see, and no—he won’t tell you what it is or where. You’ll just have to use your imagination.

    Thanks so much for a fun post!

    divider_light

    Uhhhh Ladies!!!!  I totally didn’t know he had a tattoo!! And I was already in love with him before, now this makes him even hotter. Unless it’s a butterfly or a unicorn, but I just don’t believe it. 

    Also, look at point 6: he’s both a geek and kick ass! 

    Gosh, I love this boy! 

    Avalon by Mindee ArnettAbout Avalon

    by Mindee Arnett (WebsiteFacebook,Twitter)
    Series: Avalon #1
    Published by Balzer + BrayHarper Collins on January 21st 2014
    Amazon • Goodreads

    A ragtag group of teenage mercenaries who crew the spaceship Avalon stumble upon a conspiracy that could threaten the entire galaxy in this fascinating and fast-paced sci-fi adventure from author Mindee Arnett.

    Of the various star systems that make up the Confederation, most lie thousands of light-years from First Earth-and out here, no one is free. The agencies that govern the Confederation are as corrupt as the crime bosses who patrol it, and power is held by anyone with enough greed and ruthlessness to claim it. That power is derived from one thing: metatech, the devices that allow people to travel great distances faster than the speed of light.

    Jeth Seagrave and his crew of teenage mercenaries have survived in this world by stealing unsecured metatech, and they’re damn good at it. Jeth doesn’t care about the politics or the law; all he cares about is earning enough money to buy back his parents’ ship, Avalon, from his crime-boss employer and getting himself and his sister, Lizzie, the heck out of Dodge. But when Jeth finds himself in possession of information that both the crime bosses and the government are willing to kill for, he is going to have to ask himself how far he’ll go to get the freedom he’s wanted for so long.

    Avalon is the perfect fit for teens new to sci-fi as well as seasoned sci-fi readers looking for more books in the YA space-and a great match for fans of Joss Whedon’s cult hit show Firefly

    Quote from my 5* Review:

    Avalon by Mindee Arnett is an exhilarating mix of Star Wars and The Heist Society. Lead by a charming adorable boy, mixed with a thrilling, full-on action storyline makes this story stand out. Especially the clever plot that still leaves room to develop characters creates an outstanding and perfect mix that I won’t get tired of gushing over. I’m seriously fangirling here!

    Check my fangirl Review

    About Mindee Arnett

    marnett_authorphoto_small

    Mindee Arnett lives on a horse farm in Ohio with her husband, two kids, a couple of dogs, and an inappropriate number of cats. She’s addicted to jumping horses and telling tales of magic, the macabre, and outer space. She has far more dreams than nightmares.

    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads 

    Tour Schedule

    Week One:

    1/13/2014- IceyBooksInterview
    1/14/2014- Word SpelunkingGuest Post
    1/15/2014- Fantasy Book AddictInterview
    1/16/2014- Falling For YAReview
    1/17/2014- Whimsically YoursReview

    Week Two:

    1/20/2014- Such a Novel IdeaReview
    1/21/2014- The Eater of Books!- Interview
    1/22/2014- Bewitched BookwormsGuest Post
    1/23/2014- Nerdophiles-Review
    1/24/2014- The Irish Banana ReviewGuest Post

    Giveaway 

    2 Signed copies of AVALON. International. Entries via the Rafflecopter below!

    So guys! Which of the points do you find the most interesting? Which fact makes you want to meet Jeth now?? 

     Danny_Signature_muchloveI

    a Rafflecopter giveaway

  10. Avalon by Mindee Arnett

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/avalon-mindee-arnett.html

    Avalon by Mindee Arnett

    I’ve been a Big Star Wars fan since I was very little. And I’m talking about the original ones, you know the ones with Han Solo and Luke *swoon* Skywalker, so I had already an affinity to true SciFi Stories. Now, when YA meets true SciFi I’m just getting giddy with excitement. Now, not all ScFi stories are my cup of tea, they need to have a certain stroyline and set up to them for me to work which is why I’m often a little sceptical. And let me just say – I’m so so so  glad I picked up Avalon!

    Star Wars meets The Heist Society in an electrifying way!

    The world of Avalon is crafted in a marvellous way. Set way in the future, where many planets have been discovered and flying in space ships between the worlds is a common daily feature. Much like in Star Wars, we have a ruling community who take care of intergalactic politics and of course we have also a mafia like syndicate. Now Jeth – our main character of awesome is struck with the syndicate where he and his teen crew are performing heists and steal spaceships. As I said before – I felt like it was a great combination of classic Scifi elements with the lightness and the thrilling addition of a crew of teenage thief’s.

    Our Stealing, adorable and charming Hero!

    Well, I’m not sure Jeth would have liked me to call him adorable – but he is! Captured in clutches of a crime-boss, he became very crafty himself in stealing spaceships. He’s smart clever and knows how to guide his friends through a heist. Everyone is looking up to him. Jeth is to swoon for and to fall for. I loved him for his strength and loyalty  towards his friends and sister. Jeth definitely is not having it easy, but he always tries to make the best out of this situation.

    Full on Action, Rich Compelling Story that is exhilarating!

    Seriously guys this book has it all! An amazing cast of characters wrapped up in deep politics and some secrets that all would have never dreamed of becoming wrapped up in. The plot was incredibly fast moving and filled with lots of turns and secret revelations that I didn’t see coming. There wasn’t a boring moment in this book and I was literally glued to the pages, not being able to put it down. It’s the perfect mix of clever plotting and outstanding  characters. It even had the time to fill in romance – which made my heart beat faster. If you know me, you know that a story without love wouldn’t be the same for me. Yet here I got it all! YEAH!

    Bewitched Rating

    Bottom Line

    Avalon by Mindee Arnett is an exhilarating mix of Star Wars and The Heist Society. Lead by a charming adorable boy, mixed with a thrilling, full-on action storyline makes this story stand out. Especially the clever plot that still leaves room to develop characters creates an outstanding and perfect mix that I won’t get tired of gushing over. I’m seriously fangirling here!

     scifi 

    Additional Info

    After finishing Avalon, I was so excited about Mindee Arnett’s writing that I immediately got a copy of her debut The Nightmare Affair – and I was not disappointed! It was just as awesome as Avalon.
    And, if you are not convinced after reading my Fangirly review, there is a Prequel for Avalon already available!

    And last but to least, I’m excited to host Jeth *swoon* at my Blog next week during the Blog Tour and .. oh my Girls! You should definitely come back and meet him! 
    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  11. Roomies by Sara Zarr & Tara Altebrando

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/roomies-sara-zarr-tara-altebrando.html

    Roomies by Sara Zarr & Tara Altebrando

    I tell you that I was insanely excited about this book. I was hoping for a cute story about girls who will become roommates soon, maybe form a friendship and about the scary thing of leaving home

    The Stranger that will share your Room with you…

    The concept of the story sounds straightforward. Two girls, from two parts of the US just finished High School and will then soon be roommates at College. With a summer in between they try to connect. One super eager to get to know the other and in desperate hope to find a new friend, while the other couldn’t care less (yet!).

    Told in alternating POV and with two distinct voices of two girls who share not much in the first place sets the ground for this story.

    A Summer to figure out to say Goodbye and Hello to something new

    Maybe I expected something different and it’s then totally my fault – but I actually expected that those girls would meet at some point in College. However, the story is all set in the time before College starts and the girls just have contact via Phone and Email. Both girls couldn’t have been any more different and with different hopes for College and friendship. Until of course they find that being different might be not so bad.

    Real Issues in a super slowly paced  story that didn’t click with me

    I felt like the story just dragged along – slowly. With both girls having issues at home, with the fear and at the same time anticipation of leaving home and starting a new life. I felt like nothing much happened. Each girl is having a slow romance but neither totally grabbed me and let me feel some chemistry between the couples.

    Sure enough the issues felt real, genuine and honest – but for a story to work for me I need some more excitement, chemistry and drama. I want to be entertained, yet here I was sadly bored most of the times. I just didn’t click with the girls or their story or their issues. I’m however sure that the story reflects real life teen issues and I am 100% certain that this book will be loved by many girls who will find themselves in Elizabeth and Lauren. It just wasn’t the right book for me, and for that I’m sad, as I had high hopes when starting Roomies.

    Bewitched Rating

    Rating 2.5

    Bottom Line

    Roomies by Sara Zarr & Tara Altebrando could have been awesome and amazing if it would have managed to grab me suck me in and make me feel. The slow pacing with a feeling that nothing really happened made it impossible for me to click with the story and the characters. Sad but true, Roomies wasn’t for me.

     contemporary  

    Additional Info

    Read some Reviews from Bloggers who loved it!

    It’s actually interesting for me to read these kind of stories as I never had to share my room with anyone. In Germany we don’t have dorms like you guys in the US have. When we leave for university we just search for an apartment for our own, or we share a bigger apartment with a friend (or make a new friends like this), yet we always have our own room. This is also why I’m eagerly reading all the stories now going around from bloggers sharing their Roomate story Yet, for me there is nothing to share:)

    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  12. Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/sloane-jacobs-lauren-morrill.html

    Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill

    Lauren Morrill’s Debut Meant To Be was one of my favorite books last year. It was cute, fun and so damn romantic. So, of course I was eager to pick up Being Sloane Jacobs, and hoped that it would be as amazing as Meant To Be.

    2 Girls – 1 Name – 1 chance to escape!

    What is the chance that you meet a girl with exactly your name (take out your middle name) and who’s passion is also sport on ice? Slim to none! Yet Sloane Emily and Sloane Devon meet in a hotel when they are both on their way to summer camp. As similar as their names are, as different are their characters and their life, yet but are eager to escape both for different reasons! So they form a plan to switch places and hope to escape their problems for a few weeks.

    Same Name – Different Attitude!

    I loved how different the girls were. Sloane Devon the Ice Hockey player is all rough and full of spunk and attitude, while Sloane Emily is more quite and soft. The story is alternating between the both girls and I was initially scared to be confused by their similar names, yet their personality made it was to keep track on who is who. Lauren Morrill definitely did a wonderful job painting two distinct characters with different background and voices.

    You can’t escape your Problems forever!

    Of course, as much as the girls want to escape their life and problems, they have to deal with them at some point. Just by switching places doesn’t make your life suddenly easier and slowly the begin to realize just this. However, the form new friendships and also finally and wonderfully found love and romance, yet of course not without some drama. The story itself was cute and nice, but it didn’t completely win me over and sucked me in. Additionally the concept felt like a little far-fetched, just because you can stand on skates it’s not like you suddenly can play either figure skating or play hockey. Plus, they were both supposed to be super talented so there was no one who really questioned their identity. The romance also was more lukewarm and also didn’t help to totally absorb me.

    Bewitched Rating

    Rating 3.5

    Bottom Line

    Being Sloane Jacobs by Lauren Morrill was a cute story about two girls who would love to escape their families and problems and end up switching places. Lauren Morrill creates tow wonderfully distinct characters, which makes the alternating POV’s easy to follow. However, it lacked the final spark, the one that catches you and sucks you into a story.

     contemporary

    Additional Info

    Lauren Morrill is a fantastic author and I love her writing so much, I know she will be one of my auto-buy authors even though I was not totally and completely in love with Being Sloane Jacobs, I’m excited for her next book!
    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  13. Love Fest for: Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi - The Epic Finale

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/love-fest-still-blue-veronica-rossi-epic-finale.html

    Love Fest for: Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi - The Epic Finale

    Do you all still remember when we meet Aria and Perry for the first time ? I remember falling hard for both them and then the world building totally blew me away. Now, all good things must come to an end ….

    Ultimate Showdown!

    It’s time to take action and it’s now finally time to try and get Into The Still Blue, the only place where everyone could life safely from the Aether Storms. And it will need both Perry and Aria to get everyone there and rescue not only one fraction, but both. Yet of course, the other fractions don’t care and just want to rescue themselves. Perry and Aria must unite them if they want their people friends and family to survive.

    Perry and Aria – Lovers and the perfect Team!

    How we rooted for Aria and Perry when they first fell in love, and now finally their love is a strong as ever and seeing them together warms our heart and gives us all the warm fuzzy feelings. They are not just lovers, but they are also a wonderful team, would do anything just not for each other but also the people they love. That’s what so admirable about them too, their unbreakable loyalty and determination to rescue them all.

    Explosive, Gripping and full of Action

    This last instalment is filled with action and makes up for an explosive story that left us never catch our breath. Time is running out and we can nearly feel the desperation and desperately hope for them all to survive and find the Still Blue. Unusual alliances are formed that add yet another new level of characters that we become attached to very fast.

    The story is vivid and spellbinding, perfectly grafted to make us hope, guess and hold our breath until the very last page. If you are an easy crying there will be tears involved, but I promise the ending will make up for it.

    Bewitched Rating

    Bottom Line

    Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi is the epic final instalment to the outstanding and incredibly spelling Under The Never Sky series. Characters we love will fight to gain the ultimate freedom from a cruel world that leaves them no room for survival anymore. Aria and Perry shine as a Team and as Leaders and their romance will melt your heart. If you haven’t started the series, then start now and dive into this unique and mesmerizing story!

     dystopian   

    Additional Info

    Read my Reviews of the previous books

    One of my favorite characters definitely was Roar and I know he’s loved by many people as well, so I just HOPE that maybe we will get a spin off with Roar as I want this boy to have his happy ending too!!

    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  14. Heartbreaking and Agonizing! Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/uninvited-sophie-jordan.html

    Heartbreaking and Agonizing! Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

    Sophie Jordan is know to write wonderful romances and has often some super unique story lines with the Firelight series being definitely a Paranormal YA that stood out. Now, the premise of Uninvited promised to be an exciting read, I didn’t want to miss!

    We’re Just The Sum of our Genes?

    The future painted in Uninvited is horrible. Scientists found a gene that apparently is responsible for being violent and becoming a killer one day. People are getting tested and if positive for the Murder Gene removed from society, caged and forced into camps. While it would be wonderful to feel save, thinking about this alone makes me shiver. Many people wonder if truly just one gene will turn innocent childs into a murder one day? It#s hard to believe yet scientists found apparently proof enough for the government to act.

    And, I loved how Jordan the sweet sweet Davy to picture this future for us even more vividly and what it all in the end entails.

    Sweet, Innocent Davy –  A Murderer? Like Really?

    We couldn’t have wished for a better heroine for this story. Davy is a musical protigee , has  a soft nature and comes from a wealthy good background. Nothing and No one would have guessed her to be the carrier of the Murder Gene, yet she was tested positive and her life changed after this. Being in Davys head, it’s so damn hard for us to put this soft girl in one room with truly violent people, and again this makes her perfect to paint the perfect picture of the true horrific happenings in this world.

    After the first schlock, her life changes slowly. People and friends are just looking weird, but then suddenly everything just seems to start boiling and then she looses all her friends and her dumbass of a boyfriend finally dumps her.

    Even worse, she’s then tattooed, marked and then thrown into a room full of positive Teenagers, shut away from the “normal” kids! This is when the horrific story for Davy trull begins.

    Heartbreaking Moments in an Agonizing Environment

    Seriously, my heart broke over and over and over and over again. What Davy had to endure was horrible, shocking and appalling.  They way she was suddenly an outcast without having done a singly bad thing in her life blowed my mind. But then, there was Seth – Oh Seth our savior! Seth is also a carrier and she meets him  when thrusted in the new school which is nothing less than a cage for these kids.

    And Seth is dark, edgy and dark ass, yet never against Davy and he seems to have a great feeling of wrong and right. Yet again, we ask ourselves if this boy really would be a murder when he’s so protective of Sam? Seth was amazing and awesome and I feel in love with him easily. Bad Ass with lots of attitude but with a good heart, that’s the boy we want for Davy!

    Slow Climbing and Thickening Plot Development

    In the beginning the plot moves slowly getting used to the basics of the world outlaid for us. But it gets more dangerous and gruesome with each page we turn and the plot thickens quickly becoming more complex, terrifying yet thrilling.

    Bewitched Rating

    Rating 4.5

    Bottom Line

    Uninvited by Sophie Jordan tells a horrific tale and paints a disturbing future where only your genes will be the judge of your character. It was heartbreaking and so tragic to see sweet Davy’s life change to dramatically. But with badass Seth in the picture, we finally gained saw hope at the end of the tunnel and the end of the book left us with the desperate hope for Seth and Davy to be happy and escape this horrible environment!

     scifithriller 

    Danny_Signature_muchloveI
  15. The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine

    New Post has been published on http://bewitchedbookworms.com/2014/01/promise-amazing-robin-constantine.html

    The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine

    And … amazing was what I was hoping for as it seemed like the perfect book for me! Love, romance with a cute badboy.

    The Cute and The Normal Girl

    Wren is just the average girl. She’s plain and honestly a little boring and she’s very very quite. This she’s been told by so many people over and over again, from her family to her teachers. More so, Wren starts believing it herself. But, when she meets Gray she begins to change, finally beginning to speak out for herself. The problem was that I didn’t believe this change, it was nothing that felt like a natural development for me and rather felt like a forced change and development.

    Gray – Bad Boy out for redemption?

    When we meet Gray in the beginning he seemed like the perfect bad boy wanting to change…. He was just thrown out from his old school for something he did that was borderline criminal. As I do not want to spoil this, I want to say that this was something I could live with, especially since he realized that he needed to change his path.

    When Gray meet Wren, the cute girl he realizes that there for her, he needs to change. It was actually super cute seeing this bad boy full of attitude falling for the good girl Wren.

    And, I truly enjoyed their romance. As different as they were, there was chemistry between them! Sdaly, the chemistry was a little instant and had no room to develop past this initial spark.

    Love … but not much else?

    As I said, I really liked the romance and there was definitely a spark between them. I love the opposites attrack theme here, and it was definitely played well. However, I felt like there was not much else to this story. There was a little drama with parents about growing up, but nothing that felt really deep for me. Moreover, Gray did something I still think he needs to face what he did. It ends with having no consequences for him, which felt a little wrong as much as I liked him! Also,  there are some scenes which felt totally forced. Like, there is not enough drama, so lets add some but it was so stupid that this whole scene made no sense.

    Bewitched Rating

    Rating 2.5

    Bottom Line

    The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine was unfortunately the opposite of amazing. As much as I wanted to love this book, it was just not as amazing as promised. Wren was a flat and boring character and the whole story had not much substance apart from the two teenagers falling in love.

     contemporary 

    Danny_Signature_muchloveI